Photobook Awards

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation has unveiled the shortlist for its fourth photobook awards. The prize celebrates the best photobooks published in the past year.

This year’s edition is divided into three categories, including the inaugural Photography Catalogue of the Year category which, according to the organisers in a press statement, will be awarded to “the publication, publisher, or institution responsible for the exhibition catalogue or museum publication judged to be the best of 2014.” There are five nominations in this category, including Mark Cohen’s Dark Knees, the catalogue accompanying the exhibition Photobooks: Spain 1905–1977, and The Catalogue Box, published by Verlag Kettler/The PhotoBook Museum.


There are 12 books nominated in the Photobook of the Year category. These include The Big Book by W. Eugene Smith, Jim Goldberg’s Rich and Poor, Ruth van Beek’s The Arrangement, and Peter van Agtmael’s Disco Night Sept. 11, previously featured on bjp-online. 2013 Carmignac Gestion Photojournalism winner Davide Monteleone is also nominated for his series Spasibo, which explores Chechnyan identity and the republic’s complex history. Spasibo – the exhibition – will be shown at the Saatchi Gallery in London from 11 October to 03 November. Christoph Bangert is also nominated for his book War Porn as featured in our August 2014 issue [Vol 161, Issue No. 7827].

20 books have been shortlisted in the $10,000 First Photobook category, including Nico Krijno’s Synonym Study, Alberto Lizaralde’s everything will be ok, Irina Werning’s Back to the Future and Laia Abril’s The Epilogue.

The selection was made by a panel of judges including: Paris Photo director Julien Frydman; photographer Todd Hido; Lesley A. Martin, publisher of Aperture’s book program and its PhotoBook Review; Mutsuko Ota, editorial director of IMA magazine; and photography curator Anne Wilkes Tucker.

Shortlisted titles will be published in Aperture’s bi-annual publication The PhotoBook Review, and exhibited at Paris Photo, which runs from 13 to 16 November, 2014. The winners will be announced at the fair on 14 November, 2014.

Stay up to date with stories such as this, delivered to your inbox every Friday.

Images © Max Campbell and Katie Booth.